Vet trip for puppy.

Alison

Jan 19, 2006
Massachusetts
Parrots
B&G Macaw, CAG, Moustache Parrot Quaker, 4 Tiels, 2 Keets
I have to bring my pup to the vet today. I got him from a shelter in December and was instructed to bring him to a specific vet for a follow on to check his incision from being neutered. He came home on meds that I didn't recognize so I looked it up online and found that the meds are NOT approved for cats and dogs and can cause a whole slew of medical problems. The shelter sends EVERY dog home on this med, ill or not. Needless to say I did NOT give it to him. Well I brought him where they told me to and told them that he has tape worm segments coming out of him and that he has a peepee infection and that he is throwing up. I was a vet tech for many years at a cat & dog vet, so I do know what I am talking about. Well those not so qualified people told me he was negative for tape worm, I told them they were wrong that I have pulled tape worm segs from his butt area and seen them in his poop, they insisted that they were correct in spite of me. They ran a urinalysis and said he is fine, I said if its not in the urine, it's in his private itself because he is leaking a foul smelling white puss from there and you can smell him from 10 feet away when he leaks. They told me they saw no evidence of an infection and refused to discuss it further. They told me the throwing up was from nerves. This is the calmest pup I have ever seen in my life. I said, ya right, thats why he is having a blast playing with your techs puppy over there. He really looks like a wreck doesn't he.....not! He will eat a bit, them take a drink, then throw up. Sometimes he just takes a drink and throws it right back up. But theres nothing wrong with him right.....wrong! So anyway, I got ahold of some worm meds elsewhere, but didn't have enough to redose, so off to a different vets we go today. Poop sample in hand, and ready to do battle if they don't listen to me and fix my poor, sm