Baby parrot questions from a new (future) owner.

Utako

Dec 14, 2013
Hello everyone :)

I am new to the parrot and bird world in general so I have quite a few questions for those of you who know/are experienced. To avoid making this message too long, I will say that I introduced myself in the introduction section, giving details about myself and my family.

I will be getting a baby male Quaker in a week from now which is why I come now with all these questions. I thought it might be better to post them here rather than the Quaker topic since more people seem to be viewing this section.

So, in a week from now, on Saturday the 21st, I will be getting my first parrot. A baby male Quaker, hand-raised, hand-fed and DNA-tested. I am married and my hubby is just as excited as I am; we don't have any children but we do have 2 adult cats and 2 adult small dogs.

My questions are:

1. Do you think I can successfully hand-feed this baby Quaker? He will need to be hand-fed twice a day for several weeks and he is already trying other foods by himself. The breeder will only sell him like this, refuses to wean him. I know hand-feeding can be dangerous, especially if done by someone inexperienced like myself so this is a huge worry of mine. I don't mind it all, I would happily hand-feed him, I am just worried about hurting him. Also, the breeder told us that on Saturday he will show us how to properly hand-feed him before we take him home. I also plan to ask the vet about hand-feeding methods and advice when we take the baby for a check-up the next day or so. The breeder told us the baby will have to be hand-fed using a bird spoon for small birds/baby birds (stainless steel) that we already bought.