Hello hello!

prismmoon

Apr 21, 2010
Kansas City, Missouri
Parrots
Harley the blue and gold macaw and Sid the Goffin cockatoo
I've already posted in the cockatoo section, but I'll drop a hi here too!

My name's Sarah, I'm 24 and in Kansas City, Missouri. I'm a manager at a chain pet store and animals are my life, and recently 2 birds have joined my family's mini-zoo!

We have quite a household... myself, my dad, and my 16 year old little bro. 3 small dogs, a bunny, lizards, snakes, pet rats, fish tanks, a pair of button quail, and now we have Harley and Sid! It's a circus around here but we love it and I assure you everyone is spoiled rotten. My critters are my babies and it's important to me to give them the best life I can.

My dad had birds when he was growing up and always wanted a big bird, especially macaws. I tried to talk him into a cockatoo because they are my favorite, but after our trip to Belize last year where we got to play with macaws, he was absolutely dead set on one. So I made him do his research (Hmm, isn't that backwards?) and he decided on a blue and gold. We were going to either look for a baby from a breeder so we could raise it up ourselves, or talk to the local bird rescue, but while dad was looking for possible cages on Craigslist... up pops an ad for a blue and gold in need of a new home. We went to visit him and we couldn't resist taking him home.