Hello!!

Jaime1215

Sep 9, 2017
Mobile, Alabama
Parrots
Blue Quaker hatched 6/3/17
Hi!!

I just wanted to take a second to introduce myself and my family. My boyfriend and I have just got our first pet together (we both have other pets as well). We chose a beautiful blue quaker 2 weeks ago today from a breeder. When we picked him up, he was 14 weeks old so he is now at the 4 month mark. His name is Percy. He was fully weened and the breeder sent us home with a travel cage, the food he was weaned on to, and some millet spray. Currently, I live in Biloxi, MS and my boyfriend lives in Mobile, AL (where Percy calls home). I'll be moving in with him in December but I spend a good portion of each week there as I'm a full time grad student taking classes online. We think this is actually good as we both get time to bond individually, Percy gets some time to learn to entertain himself when my boyfriend is working and I'm not there, and we get time as a flock.

He's set up with 2 cages, one in the bedroom to sleep (his wings were clipped when we got him so he's a bit unsteady) and a large cage with a playtop out on the screened in porch where he can see all the other birds and explore/stretch his wings. He was quite hand tame when we got him and he's already preening both of us and preening himself on us. He comes to either of us, he's learned step up, stretch (lifts both wings above his back), kisses, and he is chatting up a storm every day. We are just in love with this little man and he already has such a personality. We've been switching him from seed mix to nutriberries this week to start the transition to pellets. He loves them and he picks smaller pellets out of the seed mix, so I think we'll be ok. He sure does LOVE to eat. We picked him up and he was 80 grams, now he's 82.