Newbie Goffin too mom needing advice on plucking!

Robbielou

Jan 24, 2023
Parrots
Blue fronted amazon
Hi everyone! I need help we have a rescue goffin that fell into our laps. Her name is Hootie sheā€™s sweet as can be! We literally just got here I will be making a vet appointment first thing in the morning but I have no experience with plucking and I need advice. We were told she is a manā€™s bird which is clearly true but sheā€™s sweet to everyone. But she lived with a lady and was depressed and plucked which is why she rehomed her to us. She thinks she will get better once that void is filled. Hopefully it does! But what can I do to help in the mean time? We are experienced large bird owners just luckily not with plucking. We will get her to the vet they just usually have a bit of a wait.

Attachments

• 71105121223__86B037DE-4FE3-4BE7-BCDE-1392AEDD7435.jpeg
    71105121223__86B037DE-4FE3-4BE7-BCDE-1392AEDD7435.jpeg
    230.2 KB · Views: 64

zERo

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 9, 2021
Media
Texas
Parrots
Tony-Green QP(M)
Tom-Pineapple GCC(M)
Milly- Sparrow (F)
Welcome to the forums!

So glad you could welcome this lovely lady into you home!
A vet visit is a great idea, Iā€™d recommend they do a blood test to rule out any medical issues.

What was her diet like? Diet can have so much to do with a birds feather health.

Iā€™d ensure she gets 12 hours of good quiet sleep.

Also, provide her with plenty of toys to shred!

OP
R

Robbielou

Jan 24, 2023
Parrots
Blue fronted amazon
Welcome to the forums!

So glad you could welcome this lovely lady into you home!
A vet visit is a great idea, Iā€™d recommend they do a blood test to rule out any medical issues.

What was her diet like? Diet can have so much to do with a birds feather health.

Iā€™d ensure she gets 12 hours of good quiet sleep.

Also, provide her with plenty of toys to shred!