Proper GCC Diet?

kieer

Oct 21, 2023
Parrots
Baby [Green Cheek Conure]
Hi everyone!! This is my first post on this forum and I'm relatively new to owning parrots - I am a first time bird mom. :) I am absolutely in love with my parrot and I've been lurking on these forums almost obsessively. I love seeing everyone's flocks and I can't wait to start participating in this community. I apologize if this is in the wrong section of the forums.

My GCC, Baby, has been on Harrison's Adult Lifetime Coarse for the majority of her diet, and I've been offering her vegetables and fruits - and very occasionally birdseed as a treat. Additionally, I use sunflower seeds exclusively for training - but I've been trying to limit it to 5 seeds a day. However, Baby is really hesitant to try any vegetables or fruit I provide regardless of anything I try, including eating them with her. I hear the term "chop" a lot but it doesn't seem really truly defined on what exactly chop is or what works best. I don't want to neglect a fundamental part of her diet, so I was hoping to ask a few questions in hopes that I am able to decode this picky eater!

What chop recipe do you use the most, and why? How do you prepare or store it? How long do you leave it in the cage? For those with picky eaters, how were you able to find vegetables and fruits that they enjoy?

Last edited:

onamom

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month šŸ†
May 9, 2022
Indiana, USA
Parrots
Ona: Dilute Green Cheek Conure
Welcome to the forums!

Check out this chop thread for tons of recipes:

Another member has also recently posted their chop process here: