so-cal
Parrots
1 YNA (Bingo)
1 OWA (Plumas R.I.P.)
1 RLA (Pacho R.I.P.)
2 GCA(Luna,Merlin) The Twins
1 Congo AG (Bella)
5 Cockatiels
I have been using Arlo security cameras for a few years.
I like the fact that they are 100% wireless. No video cables and powered by rechargable batteries.
The down side has been that video is only stored in the cloud not local.
The newer system do(I think) record on a local hard drive.

I got an email from the company basically saying my system is too old and will no longer be supported wit video storage on the cloud.

And they offer a big fat juicy $50 off a “Brand New System “
I can’t type all the nasty things I am thinking about that company right now.:mad:

so I am asking if anyone is using a system similar to Arlo that stores data localy and uses wireless cameras without power connection.
so far I only found 1 that fit the bill , think it was called Owl but not sure.
The reviewing on that system doesn’t fill me with confidence.

Owlet

Oct 27, 2016
Colorado
Parrots
Lincoln (Eclectus), Apollo (Cockatiel), Aster (GCC)
Check out Wyze... it's a system I've recently come into contact with. I dont know too much about it but i got one of their indoor models for the bird room. I think I read their outdoor models are also wireless and are just rechargeable battery? but I could be remembering wrong. And I know at least the model I got you can insert a micro SD card for recordings...

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
Have never really been into such camera systems, but they are clearly something that is becoming more of a need these days.

No real background with this type of technology, but it would seem that if it is WiFi your computer should have running access to what it is sending to the cloud and also save it to a storage hard drive owned by you, in your home. I do that with my laptop stuff as I see no reason to be held at ransom by some organization that sold you the equipment.