1 year old Cinnamon Conure turning very aggressive, help!

Mintforest

Jan 19, 2021
Hi all, Lambo is my cinnamon conure and he’s almost turning one, hatch date was late Mar 2021.

I had him since he was 7 weeks old. He's not a sweetie pie to start with, more hyperactive than anything but definitely not aggressive when he was young. In the recent two months he started turning very aggressive to the point that he drew blood on my husband today.

Sorry for the long story here but wanted to give as much background information as possible.

I started training Lambo since 8 weeks old and he’s a quick learner, mastered target training and recall very early on. Subsequently I started training him for free flight, at 3 months he was very stable with recalls and was able to fly unleashed by about 4 months old. Back then I did outdoor flight training for him with some other friends, 3-4 days a week. Subsequently because of my pregnancy and growing Covid numbers our outdoor flying sessions with friends were cut down but he was still able to fly under my block. But as I went into my third trimester due to the appearance of stray cats its became much more risky flying him there, plus if he spooked I can't run after him anymore, so his flying sessions were stopped. The change wasn't sudden, we cut down the outdoor sessions gradually over about 2 months so it's probably not a reason for his personality change. The flying did help to burn off his energy but even indoors he can still fly around the flat for exercise.