A cockatoo afraid of perches…

Ebirb

Apr 30, 2022
Parrots
Frankie-Rux a Congo African Grey
Hey everyone!

Very first time posting, so I hope rhis is all done correctly.

Today I brought home my first cockatoo a Goffin. We are his second home and want to take the best care of him possible. I have a lot of parrot experience from volunteering and having my own sweet grey, but I know that there is always more to learn and more situations to encounter.

I need a bit of advice on Teacup, the Goffin who I brought home. The people looking after him gave him up for lack of time and finical challenges. He is only a year old, and so far seems to be a very confident relaxed bird. (Though I know his goofy side will come out when he settles in). The issue I need advice on is Teacup is terrified of perches and branches of any kind. He is terrified of them and will only rest on the floor or on a person. I don’t need to go into why it’s bad for a bird to be on the ground, or why it’s bad for a young too to be held all day. The amount of fear he has for these things is intense, and I don’t know how to approach it.

And advice is appreciated.

Thank you,
Eleanore

zERo

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 9, 2021
Media
Texas
Parrots
Tony-Green QP(M)
Tom-Pineapple GCC(M)
Milly- Sparrow (F)
Hey everyone!

Very first time posting, so I hope rhis is all done correctly.

Today I brought home my first cockatoo a Goffin. We are his second home and want to take the best care of him possible. I have a lot of parrot experience from volunteering and having my own sweet grey, but I know that there is always more to learn and more situations to encounter.