Aggressive Goffin Cockatoo

lindak3229

Feb 24, 2022
Parrots
Goffin Cockatoo
Good afternoon. This is my first time being involved in a forum. I have a Goffin Cockatoo, whose name is Malcomb. I have had Malcomb for 21 years. I am at least his third owner, so I have no idea of his actual age. He was a neglect case, missing 85% of his feathers when I got him. We bonded quickly. He does not talk. He has typical mood swings, but I got used to that. He gets aggressive in the Spring, which I assume is breeding season. He eats pellet food (on seed when I got him). I give him fresh vegetables as treats 2-3 times weekly. He gets pecans, non-salted pistachios, English walnuts and non-salted peanuts as treats daily. He was in a cockatiel cage when I got him. I bought a used California King cage. I know about rotating/replacing toys so he doesn't get bored and start plucking. He stays in his cage when I'm not home. I turn him out when I get home. He stays out all night until I leave the next morning.

Over the past 4-5 months, he has decided he hates me. My work schedule, etc. has not changed. Nothing new. His cage is next to a window, where it has always been. He has always had a mirror in his cage. He loves his baby in the mirror. I cannot figure out what is going on. He acts like he wants to play, but then he ends up biting me or attacking. He has bitten me on my head, my neck, every finger I have. When he attacks, he always comes after my face. I turn my head, which causes the bites on my head and neck. Last night, I simply walked into the room where his cage is. He flogged me - came right into my face. I turned, but he got my inner ear and bottom lobe. That's the first time he's gotten that close to my face. I'm not a newbie. He normally comes out of his little moods, but not now. If this keeps up, I may need a blood transfusion :). Any ideas? I need help!

foxgloveparrot

Parrot of the Month πŸ†
Aug 30, 2021
Indiana, USA
Parrots