Alexandrine vs eclectus

izzieschickies

Oct 3, 2021
Hey guys,
Youā€™re all probably aware that I have been researching different species for over 4 years now and I have reached my next point of questioning for the wealth of knowledge on this site

I am quite aware that there are already threads on this topic but none have answered all my questions as of yet, so, more questions!

While at the title does say alexandrine, I am also interested in their close relative the derbyan.

This will be my first parrot so I want to get it right the first time.

First off, how do they compare noise wise - who is more likely to make more noise more often and who is more likely to be loud less often.

Secondly, which species is more likely to be content with simply entertaining themselves while near me for some of the time and which is more likely to need costant hands on attention.

Finally I would appreciate any brief or detailed day in the life sort for each bird

I do know that every bird is an individual, I also wonā€™t be getting my bird for most likely another few years as I want to have a secure living and financial situation, I am also aware of eclectus dietary needs and cage requirements of both.

I know I sound like Iā€™m thinking too deeply about it but I really enjoy learning as much as possible about these animals so itā€™s a really fun little hobby really.

All other advice is welcome! And thanks for reading!

OP
I

izzieschickies

Oct 3, 2021
Hey guys,
Youā€™re all probably aware that I have been researching different species for over 4 years now and I have reached my next point of questioning for the wealth of knowledge on this site

I am quite aware that there are already threads on this topic but none have answered all my questions as of yet, so, more questions!

While at the title does say alexandrine, I am also interested in their close relative the derbyan.

This will be my first parrot so I want to get it right the first time.