Am I travelling to much?

charlj941

Dec 24, 2020
Hello,

I am looking to adopt a 7 month old African Grey, sheā€™s named Crystal and is always happy to see me when I volunteer at her breeders. Sheā€™s 4 months old now so, should I decide to proceed with adoption, I will be picking her up in February of 2021.

Iā€™ve been doing research on parrots for the past 7 years and I am finally in an environment where I will be able to host a avian companion. Iā€™ve been trying to find articles about travelling and have contacted many breeders, vets, other bird keepers and many other people who have experience with birds. Iā€™m quite well read on African Greys but I am not yet ready to make a decision on how well African Greys tend to adopt to new environments.

To give you and idea of what I am most concerned about, I can describe my current living situation. I am a student at an university about an hours drive from home. During the week (Monday mornings to Friday afternoons) I am at the flat at the university with my brother and during weekends we head home to spend time with our parents. In 2022 I start working for a firm that is also about an hours drive from my parents house. I will need to travel for work but will always be away for less than 10 hours and when I wonā€™t be able to be back the same day I always travel to places that are pet friendly.

I absolutely love birds and my parents too are bird lovers. They also keep two cockatiels named Tobie and Wouter. We (the entire family) spend the December holidays at a caravan park. We take the two cockatiels with when we go camping and they do really well in the new environment and with the 6 hour drive.

My question to the community is will my avian companion cope with all the travelling or should I rather wait a few more years to get to a point where traveling can be kept to a minimum?

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month šŸ†
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots