Baby cockatiel

Pepper2030

Feb 18, 2021
Hello everyone,

I recently adopted a baby cockatiel, the previous owner said it is 6 weeks old. Looks somewhat older to me. Still using the syringe but is currently eating pellets and seeds. I have some experience with older cockatiels ans raisinf a baby love bird. But wanted to check a few things as I feel i did not have a good start with it.

I tried feeding it using the same syringe and baby food, but it is resisting. I succeeded 3 times but with the bird messing itself. When I tried to clean as I used to with the lovebird, it freaked out. I grabbed her gently, but I guess it didnt agree to it. It is tamed and steps up without asking. Oddly enough it gets airborne very quickly. And reaches high areas. My previous tiels were unable to do this. It is clearly you as her beak looks soft and red and she wobbles her hear and make the cranking noise when eating from the syringe.

My questions are, should I take her to the vet asap or wait till she gets used to the place. Should I force feeding it or continue with the current process. When I try to feed it now, it avoids me for the few minutes and accepts it. Also it keeps mumbling without a sound, which I think is driven by its fear. The odd bit my love bird, which is placed downstairs freaks out when this happens. And it bit me twice today. Does it sense the presence of the other bird in the house, and would the new bird cause any issues with our love bird. The latter is tamed and used to sleep in our laps and pockets. It has wheaned two days ago.

Any help or guidance would be highly appreciated

LaManuka

Staff member
Super Moderator
Aug 29, 2018
Media
Albums
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fang ({ab}normal grey cockatiel), Valentino (budgie), Jem (cinnamon cockatiel), Lovejoy(varied lorikeet), Peach (princess parrot)