Baby GCC Feeding schedule

Arizz

Jun 6, 2023
Parrots
African grey, GCC
I recently got my first Green cheek conure its possibly a turquoise because of the greenish blue color. Its around 3-4 weeks old, I wanted to ask about the feeding schedule the timings i do are every 6 hours. 6Am 12Pm 6Pm 12Am and repeat but i recently found about giving feeding a break at night for 8hours. How will i adjust my schedule?

zERo

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 9, 2021
Media
Texas
Parrots
Tony-Green QP(M)
Tom-Pineapple GCC(M)
Milly- Sparrow (F)
Welcome to the forums!

I have no experience with hand feeding parrots but hopefully someone else who does can chime in!

DonnaBudgie

Supporting Member
Jan 24, 2023
Windham, Maine
Parrots
Budgies. Lotsa Budgies.
I recently got my first Green cheek conure its possibly a turquoise because of the greenish blue color. Its around 3-4 weeks old, I wanted to ask about the feeding schedule the timings i do are every 6 hours. 6Am 12Pm 6Pm 12Am and repeat but i recently found about giving feeding a break at night for 8hours. How will i adjust my schedule?
I recently hand fed a budgie from hatching. I didn't adhere to a schedule. The parent birds feeding their chicks obviously don't- they feed on demand, so that's what I did. When Rocky, my baby budgie, was hungry she would make it known by peeping at first, then by chirping louder and louder as she grew. After feeding she would fall asleep pretty quickly but would wake up hungry again in a few hours so I fed her on demand. I definitely didn't go six hours without feeding during the day until she was about four weeks old.
I wanted Rocky to grow up feeling secure and self confident and I did not want her to cry (chirp) for food and not be fed. I believe it builds trust if the chick knows that it's cries for food will not be ignored by you, the surrogate parent.
During the first two weeks I fed Rocky every two to three hours around the clock (yes, I was exhausted).