been researching for months.....found a cage

Haven

Oct 13, 2010
ok so I have been working on learning for over two months, and I have settled on a small parrotlet to search for.
BUT I was at an auction today and they had a 6ft tall 6 sided aviary, that was in beautiful condition, 1/2 bar spacing.
WAAAAY more cage than I need for one little parrotlet that I am looking for. (nearly impossible to find here in Wisconsin I am learning)

But for $35 I brought it home with me, LOL

Of course I will disinfect it before I put a bird in it but I certainly have lots of room for toys! and the little guy who finally comes home with me should not feel cramped.

See everyone has told me to get the largest cage you can afford.
Everything I read says to get the largest cage you can afford.

Wellll I could afford this one. Think there is such a thing as TOO big?

If anyone knows of a good parrotlet breeder or a tame bird in Wisconsin area that needs a home please let me know????

Thanks
Anne

lisamarie973

Sep 25, 2010
Bradenton, FL.
Parrots
Maui - Male CAG (my baby) (Mom's babies) KiKi - Sun Conure, Fred & Wilma - Fisher Lovebirds, Gully,Sweetie,Baby - Cockatiels, Mork & Mindy - Zebra Finches Luna,Sky,Jilly - Budgies 16 Gouldian Finches
I see nothing wrong with a nice overly large cage for the bird. Sometimes a bird that small likes to feel more confined for sleeping and such, but maybe instead of getting him a sleep cage that's smaller, you could find a snuggie that he could snuggle up in at night time.

Von1983

Banned
Banned
Sep 3, 2010
Media
I don't think there's ever such a thing as too big but I must agree with Lisa, a snuggle hut/cozy hut would be very beneficial for sleeping.

My sun conure has a huge cage designed for an african gray that she has as a "play den". She has a smaller cage to sleep in.