Beware of Zupreem - Macaw in Crisis

lunyluna

Apr 12, 2020
Missouri
Parrots
Luna - Scarlet Macaw, Max - Blue Fronted Amazon, Mac - Red-lored Amazon
I've had my rescued Scarlet Macaw Luna for 3 1/2 years now, and throughout that time (and her year-long foster period beforehand) she has been on a Zupreem pellet diet. She started on the regular fruit blend for large birds, then I started mixing in the natural and veggie blends, and finally, the pasta blend. She loves the pasta version and has since it came out several months (maybe a year) ago. I was a busy college student (just graduated this week), and I know that's a bad excuse, but that's why I haven't been giving her the amount of fresh foods she should be getting. Now that I'm done with school I've been giving her about a 70% pellet - 30% fresh food diet, but that's only been in the past week.

A month ago, she started acting very aggressive toward me and quite literally almost took my finger off. I'm lucky I didn't have to go to the ER. That put me on edge, so I took her to the vet for what was most likely hormonal issues. The last time she laid eggs was 2 years ago, around the May-June time frame. Her vet date finally arrived last week, and I ordered a blood panel despite the vet not thinking we needed one. Lo and behold, we definitely needed it. Check out her blood panel results attached to this thread - everything is either high or low. Like, off-the-charts high or low. The vet informed me that Zupreem is not healthy at all for them, and the blood panel honestly speaks for itself. Instead, he recommended Harrison's High Potency diet. I've been gradually working that in for the past few days since it arrived, but she's still mainly on Zupreem for 70% of her nutritional needs.