Budgie boy or girl?

Tom92

Dec 10, 2019
Hi all,
My girlfriend has a budgie and it's supposed to be a boy but she spoke to a lady who works in a pet shop and she told her that it's a girl. If it's a girl, shouldn't it be laying eggs like any female bird?
We are a bit confused and would appreciate some help
Thanks, here's a picture:
https://imgur.com/a/tz5UDcv

I used to have cockatiels and the female one laid eggs every month even when she was alone for years. Is it the same for budgies?

Last edited:

Anansi

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 18, 2013
Somerset,NJ
Parrots
Maya (Female Solomon Island eclectus parrot), Jolly (Male Solomon Island eclectus parrot), Bixby (Male, red-sided eclectus. RIP), Suzie (Male cockatiel. RIP)
Hello, and welcome to the Parrot Forums family!

I'm not an expert on budgies, so hopefully someone will be along soon enough to help in terms of gender identification. But I did want to let you know that chronic egg-laying is not actually a healthy thing. Laying eggs draws heavily from the resources of the body, most notably calcium. So doing so every month would be a terrible strain on their bodies.

For the most part, birds identified with this tendency are not used by responsible breeders in their breeding programs, in hopes of avoiding the issue in further generations. So, if your budgie is indeed female, it's a good thing that she is not laying eggs by herself.

OP
T

Tom92

Dec 10, 2019
She never laid any eggs. I was talking about the cockatiels I used to have. She laid eggs almost every month.

Gemster

Parrot of the Month 🏆
Aug 4, 2019
Media
Parrots
Valentine-budgie (M),
Daphne-budgie (F)
Rip-Sky
Rip-Bell
When females are in breeding condition the cere will be brown. If a female is not in breeding condition they will have a white and light blue cere.