chloe.millar

Sep 29, 2021
Parrots
Green Cheek Conure
Okay question! I am a full-time student and often leave the house for 4-6 hours at a time. My green cheek conure has a full indoor enclosure and is never caged when Iā€™m home. However, I hate to leave her inside when Iā€™m away. So I have a cockatiel sized cage that I place right outside the front door while Iā€™m away. I give her the full food and water selection, and cover half the cage with a towel for shade options. Iā€™ve done this for months without issue. However, lately my neighbor has been coming over and moving her fully into the shade. I let my neighbor know that sheā€™s a tropical bird and she will do okay in the sun. (Northern CA, temp range: 60-75 ish degrees.) After her concern, I decided to do some research and found A LOT of different opinions of the safety of housing parrots outdoors. (There is usually at least /one/ person home while Iā€™m away, but they arenā€™t directly supervising her)

So the question, haha, : is it okay to leave her outside, or should I stop doing it? This is specifically asking about potential dangers of sun exposure. Will the time in the sunlight burn her or cause her to overheat? Wouldnā€™t that have already happened if so? I believe her cage itself is as safe as possible.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    380.3 KB · Views: 105

foxgloveparrot

Parrot of the Month šŸ†
Aug 30, 2021
Indiana, USA
Parrots
Ziggy, Kai, and Seiji (blue, yellowface, and dilute budgies)
Jasper (yellow-naped amazon)
Lilla (senegal parrot)
Snowberry (yellow-crowned amazon)
Cricket (pacific parrotlet)
Even though sheā€™s safe and not at risk of being predators, she could still get diseases, and every time something goes by it will scare your bird. Or she could get stolen, you never know.
Donā€™t leave your bird outside.

Laurasea

Aug 2, 2018
USA
Parrots
Full house