Can I still tame my parrot?

amandamincis

Aug 7, 2022
Parrots
The parrot whith the red cheeks
2 pale heded rosellas
I have had my cocatile for 7 years now and I still haven't been able to tame it. When I first got him, I didn't know how to properly tame him, so I used to grab him even if the bird tried to bite me (I praticaly used my parrot as a toy). Now when I am older, I have realized that the way I tried to tame him wasn't right and most likely was traumatizing. Now when I want to finally become a better person, I'm not sure if it could even work. I have watched multiple videos on how to tame a cocatile and some of them say that it may not be possible to tame them if a bird has experienced some trauma with you. I've tried now to tame him by giving him these long millet sticks from my hand and holding the sticks from the stem, but I have been doing it for several months now and I feel like I'm not making any progress. The bird eats the farthest part from my hand but never gets any closer. I'm scared that I ruined my friendship with my bird from the beginning and now I'll never be able to tame him.

Is it still possible to tame my bird after the rough beginning with him.

bonitabird59

Apr 12, 2022