Chop Mix Do's and Dont's?

BoomBoom

May 2, 2012
Parrots
Boomer (Sun Conure 9 yrs), Pewpew (Budgie 5 yrs), Ulap (Budgie 2 yrs), Eight & Kiki (Beloved Budgies, RIP)
Hello! My once 'anything goes' conure is slowly becoming a picky eater. He avoids his broccoli and carrots and holds out for the apple and boiled rice. So I have to start doing chop mixes now. I used to just always chop his fruits and veggies for each meal, so I'm new to this chop mixing.

I have a few questions for those who have experience in this:

1. Is there anything I should avoid putting in the mix (besides the foods that are toxic of course)? For example, should I avoid mixing in highly acidic foods like tomatoes and oranges?

2. Does it spoil faster once it's served, compared to produce that is not 'mixed?'

3. Did your bird like it immediately or was there a period of transition?

Kalidasa

May 8, 2013
Media
Michigan
Parrots
1 green cheek conure (Kumar)
2 male budgies (Charlie and Diego)
Little pieces of orange are good because the citric acid will keep the mold down longer. Have you tried sprouting? It's extremely easy, and once you get a system going, you'll always have them ready to serve. Takes up hardly any space also, just a few jars is all you need.

OP
BoomBoom

BoomBoom

May 2, 2012
Parrots
Boomer (Sun Conure 9 yrs), Pewpew (Budgie 5 yrs), Ulap (Budgie 2 yrs), Eight & Kiki (Beloved Budgies, RIP)
Good to know about the oranges! Hopefully the orange will mask the awful taste of broccoli too.

I haven't tried sprouting though I've read about it before. It seems intimidating lol. I might look into it again if The chop mix goes well with Boomer.

Nocturnal

May 15, 2013
A secret place
Parrots
||Mika, 23 yo senegal parrot||Cayenne, 5 yo sun conure||Katana, 6 yo cockatiel||Monk, 4 yo peachfaced lovie||Onyx, 8 yo BH caique||Pluto & Neptune, 4 yo budgies||Tauntaun, 17 yo U2||
....broccoli doesn't taste aweful -_-