Concern with my testosterone med affecting ouconuresr

rkw

Aug 25, 2021
Parrots
two conjures one male one female
Hi All,

Brand new here and rand new to caring for conjures. Will def learn a lot about care/feeding, play & training.

I have been around them now for just a few months. First 2 were a lot of fun & getting them to adjust & accept me. Went fantastically for sure and I love them already. Both are about 2yrs old I think. Long story but my wife has had them since about 8-10 weeks or so and for a couple years.

I'm new to the flock and am total animal/bird lover so no worries at all there. Have to learn the species quirks & common behaviors or each individual for sure.

My concern is a recent aggressive change in our males' behavior. He has become playfully combative suddenly. He also has begun biting, not nibbling my ears to the point of painful. Luckily beak was damaged in a door related, ahem, incident well before I got here with them. That means the bite are hard but not as hard & painful as they would be with a fully working beak. But the damage is not the issue I'm discussing right now but concern medication is adversely affecting his hormone level, specifically testosterone.

Due to an injury I have to apply it daily for the rest of my life so it's not a choice or something I can stop taking. It is called T-Gel and is applied topically on my upper arm and shoulder.

A concern with it is it can affect others in my home so I need to let it absorb then put on a shirt for the next 3-5hrs give or take. Use a clean fresh shirt every day to avoid carrying over buildup.

I have a concern he has somehow been picking up enough to absorb and alter his t-level thus making him bit more assertive toward another male, in this case, as well as in general. He is my wife's best buddy and loves being held, scratched and cuddled. I can still do the same once I can get him to relax. So it's not a fact he doesn't trust me at all. It is how he now bites my ears very often.