Considering adopting an 18 year old U2

kozykitty

Dec 29, 2015
Columbia, Maryland
Parrots
Gloria, BFA, adopted on Jan. 9, 2016 when she was 30 years old
. Her mom went to a nursing home.
Also have 2 cats (Rangerand Luna) and a 24 year old aquatic turtle, named Elvis.
My local independent pet store deals with Rehome my Pet. They always have birds. I adopted my 33 year old BFA from them almost 3 years ago. She's a really chill bird, who doesn't like hands and won't step up but she loves our companionship and gives us kisses and face rubs. Anyway, I was in the store yesterday getting supplies and they have an 18 year old U2 who seems very sweet. She was sitting atop a large wood perch. They've had her 2 weeks and said that she was quite sweet. Her family gave her up because she screams in the morning and has too much feather dust. The store owner wants to make sure she goes to a home with someone home all day. I'm a retired teacher and waited until I retired to get my Amazon for that reason. I think they need companionship and couldn't bear the thought of leaving a bird in the cage all day. We also have a couple of cats.

So my concern is this--if I adopt this bird--what is the best way to introduce her to Gloria (the BFA) who has always been an only? Is this even a good idea? I mean there are some times when Gloria has to be left alone--when I run errands and travel (about 4 days each quarter). My husband is home in the evenings then so she's never completely alone. Any suggestions or advice to help me with this decision would be welcome.

Laurasea

Aug 2, 2018
USA
Parrots
Full house
Oh Lord!!!! Read quelling Mrs. Rosetta Stone! Read thinking of getting a second bird thread! A very difficult bird, act completely different at home, need tons of attention!

OP
kozykitty

kozykitty

Dec 29, 2015
Columbia, Maryland
Parrots
Also have 2 cats (Rangerand Luna) and a 24 year old aquatic turtle, named Elvis.