Conure questions

TeeRex5

Feb 5, 2023
Parrots
Frank-Green Cheek Conure
I am new to the bird forum. I have a 1.5 year old male GCC. I have had him since he was 2 months old. He was born and raised in a bird/pet store. When I got him, he had no tail feathers as he was bullied by other birds and they pulled them out. Frank is a very picky bird. He does not like to step up. He does not like to cuddle. He does not like new toys. He likes his old ones. He only likes certain foods and will not try the many expensive pellets I have tried. He loves to play with his cat balls…..on the floor. He has about 15 going at one time and will spend all day squeaking and rolling them around. His wings were clipped when I first got him but I am letting his flight feathers come in. My question is sometime Frank likes to sleep on the floor 2-3 days a week. He will sleep in the dark behind the hamper or under the armoire. I have no other pets. Sometimes he sleeps in his covered cage. I use headphones at night so there is no sound and the room is dark. How big of a problem is this?

1CB488D5-E992-4890-A436-1D3D7144F18B.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

onamom

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
May 9, 2022
Indiana, USA
Parrots
Ona: Dilute Green Cheek Conure
Personally I wouldn’t allow it because there is a high chance you could accidentally step on him or move something on top of him while he’s sleeping. If you have not other pets it’s definitely less risk but just be careful. I think it’s a personal choice for you as to if you are willing to accept that risk or not.

maddox

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
2022 Parrot of the Year 🏆
Mar 15, 2022
Media
Fairfield Connecticut, USA
Parrots
Maddox is a green cheek conure