First parrot, not sure if this is going to work . . .

armsli

Jan 14, 2021
Hello everyone,

My name is Lisa and I live in SE Pennsylvania. A friend of mine recently lost her aunt, which left her aunt's Macaw's without a home. She has limited family and as such we have very little background on the bird. We don't know her age, or even if she is really a girl. Her name is Lacey. Having nowhere else to go, my friend took her in, but has a young special needs child who does not understand boundaries and she was concerned for both of their safety. I agreed to try to foster her until an appropriate home can be found. I have no bird experience.

Lacey has been with us for about 10 weeks. She is a beautiful and very talkative. I understand the great amount of knowledge and time that would need to be invested to make this a good fit for both of us, and I am trying. I've been reading the Parrot's Wizard book and trying to work with her. I haven't gotten very far:( I was hoping to have her step up by now, but our sessions never get that far because she is constantly trying to bite me. She will accept nuts and treats by hand, but I have to be careful not to have any other stimuli or hand motion and use the same, slow approach and she will (mostly) gently take it. I keep her cage door open during the day. I had planned on having her out on a playpen at times during the day, but have not been able to advance in handling her.

I wish I knew just anything about her background and pray that we can build a trusting bond, but I'm feeling defeated and thinking about surrendering to a rescue.

I would be happy to pay a reputable trainer to come to the house and work with us, but have not been successful in finding someone, especially with COVID right now.

Any feedback would be appreciated. I work at home full time but also take care of a disabled child so my time isn't endless, but I'm willing to commit to reasonable daily training, just feel like I'm not doing very well:(