First time Alexandrine owner

vortex319

Apr 19, 2020
Hello ! Hoping everyone is doing fine and keeping safe in the Covid 19 pandemic we are facing.

I am new to this forum and the reason I joined is because I am new to handling Alexandrine parrots. My previous experience is with the IRN, Fischer lovebird as well as a cocktail. I got all of these when they were at least a month old so I have experience in feeding parrots by using a syringe.

I have a few questions regarding the Alex that I currently own.

1. It is of 4 weeks and needs to be fed using a syringe. How long before I would be able to feed it soft solids (like mashed chick peas paste). I recall my IRN started the chickpea intake at 6 weeks of age. I am not sure about the Alex. Could anyone share their experience?

2. I have been told that the Alex has a better vocabulary than the IRN (my IRN had a limited vocabulary and refused to go beyond that).

3. The million dollar question - gender ! The breeder who I got the Alex from stated clearly that it is impossible to determine the gender of an Alex / IRN before a year or so and anyone claiming to do so before that age is just trying to make a buck out of you. Could anyone substantiate this ?

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
Hello ! Hoping everyone is doing fine and keeping safe in the Covid 19 pandemic we are facing.

I am new to this forum and the reason I joined is because I am new to handling Alexandrine parrots. My previous experience is with the IRN, Fischer lovebird as well as a cocktail. I got all of these when they were at least a month old so I have experience in feeding parrots by using a syringe.

1. It is of 4 weeks and needs to be fed using a syringe. How long before I would be able to feed it soft solids (like mashed chick peas paste). I recall my IRN started the chickpea intake at 6 weeks of age. I am not sure about the Alex. Could anyone share their experience?