First Time Lovebird Tamer

Akula00

Feb 2, 2022
Parrots
Indian Ringneck, Lovebird and Budgie + Finches
Hello everyone.

About 3 weeks ago now I purchased my beautiful Lovebird: Frosty. While I am not a beginner parrot owner, this is my first Lovebird. I am following the usual pattern of placing hands on cage and spending lots of time around him to build comfort, however, I would love some more specific recommendations for taming and eventually moving on to getting my boy to step up.

Terry57

Staff member
Super Moderator
Nov 6, 2013
Media
Albums
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Parrots
Hawkhead(Darwin),YCA(Dexter),VE (Ekko),OWA(Slater),BHP(Talli),DYH(Calypso),RLA(Kimera),Alex(Xander)CBC(Phoe),IRN (Kodee,Luna,Stevie),WCP (Pisces),CAG(Justice)GCC (Jax), GSC2(Charley)
Hello everyone.

About 3 weeks ago now I purchased my beautiful Lovebird: Frosty. While I am not a beginner parrot owner, this is my first Lovebird. I am following the usual pattern of placing hands on cage and spending lots of time around him to build comfort, however, I would love some more specific recommendations for taming and eventually moving on to getting my boy to step up.
Frosty is such a great name! In addition to sitting next to the cage, you could also read to him. I sing to my birds,
This thread has many tips on building trust:

Tips for Bonding and Building Trust

You are doing the right things with Frosty, and taking your time. I believe patience is so important, and there is no better feeling than having your bird learn that they can trust you.