Friend for Sun Conure

Cheekybugger

Sep 11, 2018
Gudday very long post coming I am completely new to Conures as I am in Australia and grew up with Cockatiels, Princess Parrots, King Parrots and Crimson Wings. I have had my Sun Conure Cheeky Bugger for 6 monthes and am comepletely in love with his affectionate dog like nature but I have 2 jobs, althougth I still spend at least 4 hours a day with him when I come home, but am worried he gets bored during the day.

He's in a cockatoo sized cage with tree branches, logs and bird toys to play with but I have never had a bird without a friend before. I have one slightly smaller to put near him to introduce the friend to him.

I have a couple of questions first about Sun Conures, I have played heaps of Sun Conure youtube videos of them screaming and he completely ignores the sound is this normal as many of the comments say their own sun conure has gone crazy when he/she hears the noise I can only assume the IPad speaker doesn't sound like another sun conure to him?

Next question is when I first got him he loved both me and my male flat mate but in the past few days he has bit my flat mate every time he goes near him extremely hard drawing blood but is the same affectionate bird with me. I am confused as when I got him his previous owner said I couldn't touch him until he
got to know me, but when I went to take him home he jumped straight on my hand and let me scratch his neck I am very good with Animals so expected this but my flat mate is better then me (he's a native animal carer) with Animals so I don't know why he prefers me all of a sudden.