• doesnt matter

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • NEVER!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Bird

Sep 27, 2010
Hi everyone! i am not new to parrots but i am new to this/and some other forums. Reading all the information i found online is very interesting, since the store that i bought my african grey from pretty much told me to do the opposite of everything that i can find online in these forums.
so the question is ...should i or should i not clip my birds wings? the store clipped them, they said its for safety, so they dont run into windows and such but now i think my birds have lost their confidence that they had. another parrots forum type of a site | Meet The Parrots tells me to clip them ..but a different one named theparrotforum.com says not to.
so i am very confused ...should i get them done or not??? (wings)
nails, it makes sense to groom them every few months because they will affect the birds directly but wings...i dont know..
another question is ...how often should i give my grey a bath...they sold me some parrot shampoo and said do it every month ...
cuz of dust and what not.

any suggestions?

JawzX

Aug 22, 2010
Media
Vermont
Parrots
8 year-old second-hand Alexandrine Parakeet Buddy (aka Baby, aka Ms. Prissy Beak)
Welcome! Clipping is a very contentious subject. My personal opinion is that if you can provide an environment that is safe for a flighted bird, then clipping is not required. A flighted bird tends to get more excesize, but they can also get into trouble easier and may be more difficult to control. Perhppas a good cous of action is to initially clip the bird and the build the trust and rules you and the bird need in order to be safe in the house while the feathers grow back in. This is the course of action I am personally taking.

as for bathing, a shampoo is probably not a great idea. Even a "pet safe" one can strip oils from the feathers and dry out a bird's sensetive skin.