Help! my eclectus had a baby

Romeofred

Apr 5, 2015
jersey shore
Parrots
My Romeo yellow Nape, Fred African gray one female and one male eclectus with their new baby 4/1/15
My female eclectus hatched an egg! I taught her abstinence. What could have gone wrong? The baby is about 3 day old. Now I know why she was acting strange. Totally unprepared to be a grandparent where do I go for quick accurate information? Bedding,formula,handling,special food for female? Would appreciate your input. Thanks :confused:

Allee

Oct 27, 2013
Media
Texas
Parrots
U2-Poppy(Poppy lives with her new mommy, Misty now) CAG-Jack, YNA, Bingo, Budgie-Piper, Cockatiel-Sweet Pea Quakers-Harry, Sammy, Wilson ***Zeke (quaker) Twinkle (budgie) forever in our hearts
Welcome to the forum! Congratulations to an unsuspecting grandparent.

I have to hand it to you, your thread title is a real attention grabber!

I have no experience with newly hatched chicks but we have members with lots of experience and I know they will be able to help.

Best wishes to you and your new grandfid! :)

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.
What diet are you feeding the pair? Did you provided them with a nest box? If you did, what did you expect to happen. At three days old, the parents must be feeding the baby chick. They're one of the hardest ones to learn on how to hand feed, are you prepared for the task?

JerseyWendy

Jul 20, 2012
My female eclectus hatched an egg! I taught her abstinence. What could have gone wrong? The baby is about 3 day old. Now I know why she was acting strange. Totally unprepared to be a grandparent where do I go for quick accurate information? Bedding,formula,handling,special food for female? Would appreciate your input. Thanks :confused:

Welcome to the forums. :)

How do you teach a bird abstinence? :54: If you allow male and female to cohabit together, nature may just take its course - as evident in your case, LOL.