HELP !

Juamy

Aug 11, 2022
Parrots
Kiwi
I bought an IRN yesterday that I'm afraid now that she has a disease.

I am not an expert on birds, the seller told me that she was molting. But after looking for info on the internet. Im afraid he could be sick.

I will upload some pictures for advice.

Attachments

• 2C6F1C5B-C081-43BF-AEEC-98735817FB56.jpeg
    2C6F1C5B-C081-43BF-AEEC-98735817FB56.jpeg
    223.8 KB · Views: 56
  • 7172D07E-2025-4F2C-8165-FA3871A3CA27.jpeg
    7172D07E-2025-4F2C-8165-FA3871A3CA27.jpeg
    341.4 KB · Views: 54
  • 57F6F9C5-F779-49E9-9266-D6C713A1B8F5.jpeg
    57F6F9C5-F779-49E9-9266-D6C713A1B8F5.jpeg
    326 KB · Views: 61

Cottonoid

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Feb 20, 2022
Welcome to the forums!!

Oh wow, your new ringneck is a gorgeous color! How is she adjusting at home so far? It can be normal for them to be acting off the first day or so, but I think it's always good to ask questions when you aren't sure.

I adopted my African Ringneck in the spring - I was totally new to ringnecks, and had never had a parrot of my own, so I know exactly how you feel!

My parrot started his first full molt (that I've seen) in July and looked absolutely awful! He was actually sick when I adopted him (I knew it at the time) and had gotten better, so I was super worried when he started looking so terrible! Thankfully his feathers looking all ragged and crazy are just how he looks when he molts. With his coloring he also gets really dark looking patches on his face, but now that his feathers are in he's nice and green again.