Parrots
Rico
Angelo
Zazu
Commodore Norrington (Norrie)
Hopper
Pistachio
Angelo and Zazu’s story: (it’s long)

It’s Sunday morning and I’m exhausted. I’ve been living my life in 2-4 hour intervals for the past 3 weeks. I’m feeding 3 special needs chicks and I barely can even remember what life was like before Hazel, Louie, and Kevin.

Lets start from the beginning. Last year when COVID lockdown started (3/2020) my medical practice came to a halt. As an employed OB/GYN physician I was required to see only only OBs and GYN emergencies. I had a lot of time on my hands. I’ve had birds as pets for 40 years (I’m 46) and have always wanted to rescue parrots. Unfortunately, the closest bird rescues had shut their doors as well due to COVID: With an avid case of “bird fever” I resorted to Craig’s List. I only wanted males as I never wanted to deal with broodiness or egg binding. A beautiful 2 year old Sun Conure, named “Astro” was up for adoption. His current (second) owner had him for 2 months. She had adopted him since her son wanted a pet to cuddle. (We can see how that went). They had never had birds before. Astro was a DNA sexed male by report and per the original adoption papers from the first owner. I later texted the original owner whose number was on the breeder adoption contract. Her comment was that her dad would sing Astro to sleep and the bird did not like being petted. (Seriously, who the hell gives up a pet bird because he doesn’t cuddle?!!)