Hormonal new bird

SarahY

Dec 9, 2021
Parrots
Peach faced Lovebird
Hey there,I've recently found a peach faced lovebird,knowing that it won't survive in the city I had to take it in...I've provided him(I don't know the birds sex therfore I refer to it as he/him) with fruits (apples,oranges), corn and pellets( which he did not show any interest in so I had to put seeds for him) and did my best to make him feel welcomed at our household.
he takes food from hand and isn't scared of humans in general.
It's been a week or so since he has joined us, knowing that lovebirds are companion birds I let him out of the cage a couple of times (I had his nails and wings clipped) but he has been very aggressive and showing hormonal behavior since day one and tends to bite my hands and when he gets bored(which is all the time) he gets on my shoulder and starts bitting my neck and he even went for my ear twice...I have no experience what so ever with birds and I'm confused whether I should leave him in the cage until this phase passes or let him out?and for how long?
Ps1. he also has got a wooden toy which he has destroyed in this short period of time
Ps2.he is very smart and had no problem with stick training I would be devastated if I couldn't take good care of him and I did as much research as I could but am still very confused so pleaseeee help me out :`(

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty
So ways to reduce ( NOT eliminate) hormonal behavior:
No dark hiding space
No shreddy type toys or cage material, like rope, string , shredded paper, etc
Reduce the amount of sugars in the diet ( less or no fruits or stuff like corn- more leafy veggies)
No touching below the neck. None!
12 solid hours of sleep, in a dark, quiet place
Ignore butt rubbing and other signs of self pleasuring