Hurting my ears!!

adrinori

Nov 1, 2022
Parrots
Ringneck
parrotlets
cocketeil
peachface
Hi im new to ringneck keeping and am handraising a baby male. So far its been great but im wondering is it normal for him to always be squakking and so loud it makes my ears ring when his on my shoulder and bopping his head up and down even after being fed, its like a constant thing. No judgement please as im just asking and am new to this. Just needing advice and if there is anything i can do to reduce it or will he just grow out of it.

Cottonoid

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Feb 20, 2022
Welcome to the forums!

I have an African Ringneck whose normal voice is a little different than an IRN, and I got him as an adult - but - he looooves watching baby ringneck videos and that constant chatter and head bobbing seems super common :)

My guess (never having had a baby ringneck myself) from your description is that it's a lot of baby chatter and he'll start to use his voice differently as he gets older. That doesn't mean he'll get quieter overall, though ;) I can hear mine down the street when he's really chatty, and my neighbor's dog knows his alarm call even through closed windows 🚨 He definitely picks and chooses when he's loud though so I almost never get loud squawks when I'm right there.

Again welcome!

HeatherG

Apr 25, 2020
If you want to minimize the loud ringing calls, respond to your bird so he knows you’ve heard him and doesn’t keep making the same loud noise.

For example, say “hi, Ringo” or “it’s ok, bird” when he calls loudly. Then he won’t have to repeat it in hopes that you will answer.

MissMac

Dec 2, 2021
Media
Albums
Parrots
Females, Lutino Indian Ringneck Missy and Silver Lavender IRN Gracie.