I am new to this and I want to know the following things.

meshal

May 13, 2023
Parrots
one, not sure the breed tho
My parrot is trying to shake some of his feathers to get rid of them and he even appears to either ask me to help him or simply to pet him where he points(Was really surprised with his intelligence, really cool), the thing is i am afraid i will do it wrong and hurt him instead, is there a brush mean to be used on parrots or birds in general? second, how do i get my parrot to trust me enough to let me hold him, he sometimes stand on my hand but doesn't let me hold him, he bites me until i get my hands away from him(not hard, it doesn't give me any pain at all). also is there a guide where i can find information that might be helpful to me as a new parrot owner?.
thanks

PrimorandMoxi

May 29, 2015
New Jersey
Parrots
Max (23yo) Blue and Gold Macaw,
&
PRIMOR (8yo) Red Lored Amazon,
&
ABBA (33yo) Red Lored Amazon - RIP
I believe you can find all the answers you need on this site and don't necessarily need a guide or a book, although I've collected many.

Your bird just wants a scritch or even help preening. and you could maybe search those terms and see what you find. No special tools needed and he will probably tell you when you are doing it wrong.

If he gets on your hand you are doing great so far!
Now you just have to get him to trust you more and more and make him know that he can always look to you for safety and love and all good things.

If you provide a picture someone on this site will help you figure out the species too.

DonnaBudgie

Supporting Member
Jan 24, 2023
Windham, Maine
Parrots
Budgies. Lotsa Budgies.