I’m not sure on the gender of my IRN

frootloopss

Mar 16, 2023
Parrots
Ren (indian ringneck)
Hi! Despite the title this isn’t a normal what’s-the-gender question, it’s kind of odd. For context, in December of 2020 I got a 2 month old IRN, named Ren. When we got Ren, his breeder told us he had already done a DNA test and that he was a male. I had already done my own research and everything was fine. 2 years have passed and he is currently 2 years and 5-ish months old, but he has not grown a ring yet. Due to the fact he hasn’t developed a ring we’re questioning if the DNA test the breeder told us about could’ve been wrong. Ren has not learnt to speak, and this is my first time owning an IRN meaning I cannot visually tell if he’s actually a female. Is it possible the DNA test was wrong and Ren is actually a female, or is he just a lame bloomer? Are there any other possible ways to tell if he is actually a male? I can send pictures of him if needed. :)

Owlet

Oct 27, 2016
Colorado
Parrots
Lincoln (Eclectus), Apollo (Cockatiel), Aster (GCC)
There's a slim chance the DNA is wrong. Sometimes samples can become contaminated and you get l an incorrect answer.

Cottonoid

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Feb 20, 2022
Is your parrot a normal wildtype green? There are some color mutations where the ring isn't as obvious.

If I'm remembering correctly, most males get their black ring around 18 months old, and the blue+pink rings later. But some can take longer - I've read up to three years for all 3 ring colors to be molted in isn't too uncommon.

I agree that DNA testing of babies can sometimes be mixed up, so that's a possibility too.