Is it okay to let Kyo out in our studio?

Kyoto

Mar 18, 2015
Media
Halifax, NS, Canada
Parrots
Kyoto (AKA Kyo)-Green Cheek Conure
Charlie - Canary
Tommy - Budgie
Sunny - budgie
We own a 50 by 50 studio, huge open space with lights and props, as well as a sky light that is 20 feet high. I would love to bring Kyo to the studio to let her out and fly, but what kind of training should I do with her to prepare?

Thanks everyone in advance. I've never done this before :)

Anansi

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 18, 2013
Somerset,NJ
Parrots
Maya (Female Solomon Island eclectus parrot), Jolly (Male Solomon Island eclectus parrot), Bixby (Male, red-sided eclectus. RIP), Suzie (Male cockatiel. RIP)
First thing is to ensure that all of the lights and props are relatively birdsafe. I say relatively because, given enough time, a bird will find a way to render almost anything unsafe. Haha! But this is especially important since the ceilings are so high. In a pinch, it might take you a minute or three to get to her... and a lot can happen in that time.

All that said, you also want to work on her recall training. And, just as important, her ability to fly from a higher level to a lower one. Flying upward is more of an instinctive skill, whereas flying downward is more of a learned skill. (Which is why so many bonded birds who get out and fly up into a tree don't fly back down to their parront. In a lot of cases... they simply can't.)

Once you have all that worked out, I'd walk her around the entire space a few times and then let her do her thing.

Christinenc2000

Oct 8, 2014
North Carolina
Parrots
Big Bird _ Blue & Gold Macaw
First thing is to ensure that all of the lights and props are relatively birdsafe. I say relatively because, given enough time, a bird will find a way to render almost anything unsafe. Haha! But this is especially important since the ceilings are so high. In a pinch, it might take you a minute or three to get to her... and a lot can happen in that time.