Is moving too stress for parrots to handle?

Caladbolgll

Mar 19, 2016
It's been a week since I've lost my baby cockatiel at young age due to a rare case of moving sickness, as described here. Although I still think of her everyday, I can thing about it calmly without the sadness overwhelms me. I've been meeting and talking with a lot people to talk about the situation and asking for advice. Friends, parents, co-workers, bird experts... you name them.
During this weekend, I sat down and gave some serious thoughts to decide whether if I should still look for another companion. While I was sorting out the reason that I should refrain from adopting another parrot, most were due to the condition that I'm at. Although I can manage those, one crucial reason really makes me hesitate to adopt one:

I'm an engineering student switching between a study term and co-op program. In other words, I have to be periodically moving every 4 months to different location. On top of that, my family happens to live in the opposite side of Canada (I'm in Toronto, they're in BC), which makes it virtually impossible to carry the birds when I visit them annually. I'm really worried that frequent moving as well as sending them to pet hotel (or equivalent) may be too stressful for the birds to handle, since the reason why I've lost her is the excessive level of stress. I won't mention the difficulty of accommodating all these without having a car nor any relatives nearby.

Although many other reasons exists (ex: less options for finding housing or jobs, doing a full-time study on top of taming birds, emergency hospitalization fee), I'm willing to sacrifice a bit of myself to accommodate them. A good sense of responsibility is the trait of myself that I trust, and I've been into many changes throughout my life, so adjusting to different lifestyle can also be done.