Is okay put budgie at living room?

TreatOrDie

Mar 2, 2020
Hello this is my first time in here and i just registered in this site.

Here my story, i found a male budgie bird at my workplace, lost and exhausted. I keep him as my first bird pet! This is 4 day i keep him in the cage. I have zero experience about bird,and I'm still learning about bird..

And the question, is that okay put my budgie in living room? My house kinda small, and tv playing and family go inside out. I always cover the cage a dark light cloth at 8pm and wake up at 7.30/8 am. Im afraid he not enough sleep. Today at night, he kinda active like pull the cloth inside the cage, climbing and jumping around the cage. He never chriping inside the house or make a loud noise. It's different when i hang the cage outside the house.

If i put outside the house im really afraid of rain, dog barking, cars and bike and especially cats!
If the situation it's not suitable for the bird, i think im gonna let go the bird.

Also if i buy a female budgie, should i put her in same cage or separate them first? Should i buy a bigger cage horizontal or vertical? Lastly, how often you have to spray/bath them?

I wish i can upload pictures and im using a phone. Sorry for broken English.

Greeting from Malaysia

Rozalka

May 23, 2018
Media
Albums
Poland
Parrots
Bourke's parrots, green cheeked conure
They can be in living room. It is better to first separate them. I didn't do it with my budgies (first was male next female) and they didn't fight but I knew my małe character - he seemed to be too sociable to fight. The Cage always is better horrizontal (sorry I'm also on mobile and can't remember the correct English name)

Wysłane z mojego Redmi 5 przy użyciu Tapatalka

LaManuka

Staff member
Super Moderator
Aug 29, 2018
Media
Albums
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fang ({ab}normal grey cockatiel), Valentino (budgie), Jem (cinnamon cockatiel), Lovejoy(varied lorikeet), Peach (princess parrot)