Legumes and Lentils

MintyMofoe

Jan 27, 2017
Canada
Parrots
Mace (African Grey)
Hello, I am new to this Forum so sorry if this has been asked already.

I am wondering if there are any Legumes or Lentils that's are not okay to feed parrots? I have been googling a bit and it seems a bit controversial for some legumes and lentils.

Also, do all legumes and lentils have the ability to "sprout"? I am currently trying to sprout Kidney Beans, Brown Legumes and Chickpeas.

Clearly I am new to lentils and legumes so I've no idea what I'm doing, haha. :p

GaleriaGila

Parrot of the Month 🏆
May 14, 2016
Cleveland area
Parrots
The Rickeybird, 38-year-old Patagonian Conure
Glad you're here! Welcome.
I feed the Rb all the beans we eat (pintos, green, lima, black-eyed)... when we eat them... a couple of times a seek or so...
In addition to the staple of Harrison's pellets and daily varied fresh produce...

P.S.
While you're having a look around, you can take any issue or topic which interests you, use the Search Tab and then read about it. It's a really good engine.

plumsmum2005

Nov 18, 2015
England, UK
Parrots
Lou, Ruby, and Sonu.
Fly free Plum, my gorgeous boy.
Hi, think you will find this invaluable, take some time as there are loads of links within.

http://www.parrotforums.com/parrot-...afe-fresh-foods-toxic-food-lists-sprouts.html

Definitely drop the kidney beans.

Borrowed from MonicaMc, with thanks:-
CAUTION: Large beans: Anasazi, Black, Fava, Kidney, Lima, Navy, Pinto, Soy, are not suggested for sprouting. These legumes can cause toxicity and remain difficult to digest. Their raw flavor is also very bad. If choose to serve these to your bird they MUST be soaked for a minimum of 8 hours, water drained and beans rinsed well, and then cooked by bringing them to a full boil, boiling uncovered for 10 minutes, covered and simmered for another 20 minutes.

Last edited:

Flboy

Dec 28, 2014
Greater Orlando area, Florida
Parrots
JoJo, 'Special' GCC, Bongo, Cinnamon GCC(wife's)