Macaw and baby

Jaredtexas

Mar 15, 2021
Good afternoon!

We are considering getting a macaw as a family pet and wanted to hear your opinion on having a macaw with an 8 month old baby also in the house? When I was a kid I had an African gray for 15 years until it finally passed away.

I love birds a lot and actually am a master falconer and have had birds of prey for the last 6 years or so. Currently it’s the off season so I do not have a bird currently but typically they are outside in mews so seldom in the house.

The bird we are looking at is a hybrid macaw and will be fully weened in about a week. The only thing that concerns me is the noise and a baby. So I suppose my question is how bad is the noise and do you think it’s a bad idea with a baby? I’m a self employed aerospace engineer and so he will come everywhere with me it’s the home life I worry about.

Any thoughts?

ToMang07

Jul 14, 2015
Maine, USA
Parrots
Willow the Umbrella Cockatoo
Well, the Macaw can compete with a jetliner for noise, and having one near a raptor is just playing with fire, imo, plus they live 60-80+ years.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

noodles123

Jul 11, 2018
Parrots
Umbrella Cockatoo- 15? years old..I think?
I would not take this route.
1. A baby has nap times and very light sleep schedules in the night (bad for macaw), Macaws will wake the baby during the day and the baby will wake the macaw at night (bad news, as both will suffer behaviorally and in terms of health as a result of too little sleep)..Imagine not sleeping at night because of a screaming baby and then dealing with a parrot that cant sleep because one is screaming when the other is trying to rest..who also wakes your child whenever you think you will get a moment of rest during the day.