Meet Tookie

tiedyed

May 25, 2013
Huntington Beach, CA
Parrots
Nanday Conure
Hi everyone! One of our neighbors acquired Cookie a few months ago. I wasn't sure what kind of environment he was in before they got him, but the bird seemed to be more than they could handle. The few times I went to their house, Cookie did nothing but scream repeatedly. I'm no bird expert but I've always loved parrots (a friend in my teenage years had a halfmoon that I adored) and found that Cookie would quiet down if I went over to his cage and talked to him. Ultimately they offered to give me the bird, 2 cages, food and everything else just to get the screeching monster out of their house. So I thought about it for a couple of days, and discussed it with my other half ('kissedbypix' in this forum) who didn't hesitate to say she wanted him. I'd never interacted with this bird before other than brief discussions through the bars of his cage. When I went to retrieve him, I had to get him into a tiny little carrier. I was told he would step up, but I also knew that since he didn't know me, he would probably resist. And resist he did. I used the let-him-bite-you-and-don