Milo Won’t Let Me Put Him Down...

lollipoppy

Mar 10, 2020
Canada
Parrots
Mama to Milo the Pineapple X Cinnamon GCC
I know I’ve seen something about this before but can’t find it. I have an idea of what to do but in practice, his biting hurts [emoji23]

When I have Milo out, he hates being put down or put in his cage. He hides in my hair then he bites at anyone who tries to take him down, or put him down.

So, I hold my hand at the 90 degree angle and block him from coming up my arms, but he either flies to my shoulder or bites my arms.

So, I put him on his play stand. But then he flies back to me or to the floor and tries to find me and I’m terrified one of my other household members (which includes a 4 year old who, despite her best efforts, can’t be trusted to walk around him just in case, because she randomly gets excited and jumpy).

So, what’s the next step? [emoji23]

He’s gotten particularly nippy with fingers now that he believes them to be the ones responsible for taking him off my shoulders. We’re 5 days bite free but the nipping is still happening. (Bite free as in he’s not latching and staying attached, he nips and releases.)

I need to build his trust in me, but really I need to build my trust in him too because the nips and bites hurt [emoji23] I know they’ll be inevitable but I’m hoping to be able to navigate this miscommunication better. We did good last time. I just feel lost here. :)

So specifically I’m asking:
#1 how do I keep him off my shoulder unless he’s invited when he’s very nippy when we get him down or block him

#2 how do I get him to let me put him down without biting me

#3 extension of #2 how do I get him back in his cage when he won’t even let me put him down lol

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

shinyuankuo

May 9, 2019
State College, PA
Parrots
Winston 屁撚, the Eclectus. 屁撚 (pi-nian) came from Pinion (Psalms 64, meaning flight feather, typifying God's soaring power.)