Moving parrot from Texas to Puerto Rico

Suetheamazon

Mar 24, 2019
Parrots
Double yellow headed amazon 47 years old
Hello all! I am new to parrot forums so thank you for having me!

I have a question regarding moving parrots. We are moving from Texas to Puerto Rico. We have a double yellow headed amazon, also we are trying to acquire a blue and gold macaw from a neighbor who must get rid of the parrot quickly. So we want to ensure our babies come with us. We are going to attempt to take the amazon in the cabin on the plane but unfortunately we will probably have to ship the macaw. Does anyone have any experience with moving/shipping parrots? Any tips? Any recommendations? Maybe a company you used and were pleased with? Anything at all would be helpful. I canā€™t find any good solid useful information. What I do find is many years old and has probably changed by now. Any help, info, and opinions appreciated! Thank you!

Ps. We have found all kinds of info on the required things we need to do before a move. Complex stuff with the USDA and the bird and game warden. Iā€™m not sure whatā€™s accurate and whatā€™s not. Since Puerto Rico is essentially a state of the US Iā€™d like to think is the same as taking it over state lines but since itā€™s an island I donā€™t know. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated as well.

YSGC

Jan 6, 2019
USA
Parrots
Pico, gender unknown, is a hand-fed Yellow Sided Green Cheek Conure, born 2015.
I'd focus on just the Amazon you already own and let go of acquiring that macaw at this time of great change for you.

Moving one parrot is complex enough, let alone moving to a vastly different place.
IMO adding another parrot to the equation is just too much, too risky, too complex and frankly unfair to the macaw.

... but I do wish you and your bird the best of luck.

noodles123

Jul 11, 2018
Parrots
Umbrella Cockatoo- 15? years old..I think?