Moving to a house soon and making it parrot-friendly

20brio19

Jul 9, 2019
Parrots
Blueheaded Pionus-born May 2019
Huge year for me, I just bought my first house and I'll be moving out in about a month. My boy's been living with me his entire life(he's 5 now) in this apartment with me.

The apartment rooms are small and the air quality is bad so it gets extremely dusty quickly which is bad for the bird as well as for myself with my dust mite allergy. Ventilation is quite poor in this building, it is also very poorly insulated. It gets freezing in winter and almost unbearable in the hot summer. At my new place the first thing I'm doing is getting the roof, walls and floor insulated.

I get the chance to do it right this time. I saved up for this so I am not concerned with budget, I just need it allergy-friendly and parrot friendly. This is a corner house on a row of houses with a backyard, so I got a nice big wall where I can place a AC unit for all 3 floors.

I am new to this so I am looking into a great brand, something that can cool and warm the place but also clean the air as well all year long. Anybody here who has ideas for the best AC unit and maybe adding a humidifier so the air doesn't get too dry etc. please inform me.

I'm also planning on setting the place up with smooth furniture, leather couches, closed furniture etc. Basicely as dust-free as possible.

If I'm missing out on any other important measures to make the place more parrot free let me know, I just want to tackle it right as I move in and not later.

My only worry is how he is gonna handle the new home since he has never moved before(though he loves visiting my parents house all the time).

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
Congratulations!!
Sounds like you are committed to doing it right!

The process should start with the condition of the existing roof to assure that it is a single layer and installed correctly!