My Conure has laid eggs !

Melanie.L

Jan 6, 2017
Toronto, Canada
Parrots
2 Conures - Female yellow sided/green cheek & Male pineapple conure
Hi there I am new to parrot forums and have a couple questions about my conures and I am hoping someone can help me out !

So I've had a green cheek / yellow sided conure for about 4 years now, I recently started a new job and I now work longer hours and have less time to interact with her so I decided to get her a friend to keep her company. I got my second conure, a pineapple conure about a year ago now and from day one they got along very well, never fought and they live together in a large cage with plenty of toys as well as a nesting box.

About 2 months ago I realized my female conure was not coming out which I found weird because shes usually the first to come to me and instantly comes running out of the box when she hears me filling their food but she didnt so I decided to look in the box and sure enough there she was with 2 eggs!!!

Since then the male conure has become very territorial and aggressive in terms of handling and even trying to go into the cage. As for the female she NEVER comes out not even to eat or drink, is that normal? is it possible that the male is bringing food into the box for her?

I dont know anything about bird breeding and this is my first time ever seeing or dealing with birds and eggs. I also read on the internet that the eggs should hatch within 18-24 days. If I am right, she must have laid the eggs somewhere between December 13 and 19 however im not sure when exactly she laid them because I didnt even know they were there until after christmas so I am guessing thats roughly when they were laid. its been about 21 days since I discovered the eggs, I check on her daily just becuse she doesnt come out of the box and it worries me.