My first Parrot portrait!

Newfie-N-Tx

Parrot of the Month 🏆
Sep 9, 2021
Texas
Parrots
Double Yellow Headed Amazon, 2 Cockatiels and 2 Budgies
Hello everybody,

I was at the store the other day looking for Christmas decorations, and saw prints made to look like paintings of dogs with Santa hats so I decided to do a quick painting of something similar of our birdy boy. Honestly I wasn’t sure how this would come out since the only bird I have ever painted before had been a Raven. I’d like to do one of each of our 5 birdy babies.

I have a degree in graphic design but 90% of the jobs I have been hired to do since then has been painting murals of things I never would have chosen to do for myself. Its not often I get to do something for fun of something I want to paint without having to rush it so I had enjoyed this one. It was nice to do something on canvas in smaller scale not standing on a ladder! My son said I should have done a background but I kind of like having a bit of negative space.

Let me know what you think and if theirs anything that I could add.

Attachments

• 17570D70-8FB5-4CDE-A894-C9D63DD6C5D3.jpeg
    17570D70-8FB5-4CDE-A894-C9D63DD6C5D3.jpeg
    463.7 KB · Views: 101

Rozalka

May 23, 2018
Media
Albums
Poland
Parrots
Bourke's parrots, green cheeked conure
I'm often jealous how others' art is great! But recently I also noticed one thing - the best ones often belong to people who decided to go in the art way in their private life. This is why I don't wanna compare how much better you are than me :) ;) You're very good:)

OP
Newfie-N-Tx

Newfie-N-Tx

Parrot of the Month 🏆
Sep 9, 2021
Texas
Parrots