New African Grey

artis

Feb 19, 2018
Parrots
Congo African Grey
Hello everyone.
This is my first post here, so please excuse me if I ask stupid questions, I got my African Grey 3 days ago and I am overly excited :).
There are some things that got me worried already.

So some introduction. I am a software engineer from Bulgaria and I was dreaming of having an African Grey for the last 3 years. I did a lot of researched and visited a lot of birds on display in pet shops. My girlfriend and I took our time to research as much as we possibly could. Our highest priority was to find the bird that we "click" and 3 days ago we did "click" with a bird. A Congo African Grey in a pet shop, 1 year and 5 days old with a closed ring (at least it looks like its closed). The staff told us to be careful as he doesn't usually allow strangers to touch him/her. However, he really liked us and came on his own free will to us and allowed us to touch him by bowing to us. A bit later we realized we spend 3 hours in the shop making silly sounds and playing with him and we realized this is our bird, we couldn't resist and arranged him to be moved to our apartment on the next day.

Now to my questions.