New bird Mom help please!

Jenn89

Jan 7, 2018
Media
Hi new to the group just recently brought home a Congo African grey he’s about 7 months old his name is Elvis and I’m inlove with him the only problem is he loves my boyfriend and hates me we have had him almost a week my boyfriend can do anything he wants to him pet him pick him up me he will only let me do it once in a blue moon I’m trying to b presistent but I’m getting frustrated and I think he picks up on that and dosent like me even more help!!:grey:

texsize

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Oct 23, 2015
Media
so-cal
Parrots
1 YNA (Bingo)
1 OWA (Plumas R.I.P.)
1 RLA (Pacho R.I.P.)
2 GCA(Luna,Merlin) The Twins
1 Congo AG (Bella)
5 Cockatiels
I am not an expert with CAG's but...

I think you have a good chance of turning this around. From what I have read CAG's are less likely to be one person birds than say Amazon parrots are.

The 2 best tips I can think of are.

Become the main person that feeds and waters the bird. Hand him treats and things that he finds tasty.

Show No Fear. Birds pick up on people that are nervous around them and are afraid of getting bitten. They will use this to there advantage and intimidate you. CAG's are darn smart Learn his body language faster than he learns yours.

There are a lot of CAG owners here and I am sure they can give you more and better advice. My CAG was so friendly from day one that it was not something I had to struggle with.

texsize

LeaKP

Aug 11, 2014
Media
South Africa
Parrots
Congo African Grey
Hi there! It's still early days with your young bird. CAGs have people they prefer but will go to anyone who will build a relationship with them. One week is a very, very short time and your bird is still confused with the change of environment - wondering what has happened. CAGs work well with routine and stability. Take your time, offer lots of treats and go a bit slower. Check out all the threads in the CAG forum on training and behaviour.