New IRN - Inexperience

gschuetz

Apr 18, 2021
Hey everybody!

I must admit that I am new to IRNs. My wife and I have a little pineapple GCC and that little dude is a little light in my life!

This last weekend we picked up our first IRN from a breeder who claims that she is 3 months old. I don't know if that is true, though, in recognizing my own ignorance.

I'll attach some pictures of her below. Any help with aging her would be greatly appreciated. We will love her anyway, no matter how old she is, but I'd like to at least know.

What has me concerned is that she is missing the point on her beak. He had her taken to the vet recently and had a trimming and wings clipped (we want them to grow out in the future, though). She is sweet, but very bitey when we go to get her to step up. She isn't biting to hurt, I think, but to balance. She was raised in a flat bottom container.

Also, is there anything we should do to get the GCC and her to get along. Mango (our GCC) will attack her if he has the opportunity, so we keep them separate.

Any additional advice for a newbie would be appreciated!

Fah9eev.jpg

7PK650A.jpg

XyEMLU3.jpg

Attachments

• Elsia3.jpg
    Elsia3.jpg
    92.3 KB · Views: 94
  • Elsia1.jpg
    Elsia1.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 87
  • elsia2.jpg
    elsia2.jpg
    95.2 KB · Views: 102
Last edited by a moderator:

LaManuka

Staff member
Super Moderator
Aug 29, 2018
Media
Albums
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fang ({ab}normal grey cockatiel), Valentino (budgie), Jem (cinnamon cockatiel), Lovejoy(varied lorikeet), Peach (princess parrot)
Welcome gschuetz to you and your feather babies! Unfortunately i don't have any particular advice for you but we do have a number of IRN aficionados who will! Just wanted to say "hi" and thank you for the lovely pics - your new baby is gorgeous! :D

OP
G

gschuetz

Apr 18, 2021