New member/bird owner

JGarza57

Jul 6, 2019
Pasadena, Tx
Hello, I am very new to this. My name is Jennifer and im 20 years old. I recently found a parrot under a palm tree, it does not know how to fly. I’ve never had a bird let alone a parrot as a pet :green1::green1: I could use all the help and advice I can get, i’ve always been a dog person, i had two, a chihuahua (10yrs) and a husky (6yrs), my chihuahua passed away this Tuesday (July.2) and my dad found the parrot coming back from out of town and decided to pick him/her (do not know the sex) up. I read they are good companion animals and has helped me have some “happiness” since the death of my childhood dog. He was very agressive the first day but now he falls asleep on my shoulder and is very friendly. I currently do not have a proper cage for him i “build” him one out of a big cardbord box (top is opened) and cut holes through the side to place branches for him to stand on and sleep, i bought him baby toys and have done some out of straws and rope, he loves them! I am looking for a cage and proper eating containers. Since I do not know his age, ive been feeding him baby parrot food and have encouraged him/her to eat oranges, pineapple, grapes, etc. I have been feeding him 3 times a day with a syringe. I leave him a bowl of water but give him some water with syringe since he seems to now know how to do it himself. I have him with me around the house most of the time on the couch (thats where he plays). My biggest concern is not knowing how hes feeling, im all new to this and ive been reading articles and many pages on parrot behavior and body language but I just feel so uneducated. He nibbles on my neck and fingers, he likes to “chew” my hair, he comes towards me when he sees me, he also flaps his/her wings and wiggles the tail when hes playing.

My questions:
- Can I place the cage (once i obtain one) in my room?
- How do I know if he/she is happy?